Book Description

First edition. "With 80 illustrations". Light rubbing to extremities and spine-ends; neat ink name on ffep. Mild foxing to end-papers. A clean, tight copy with bright gilt lettering on front cover and spine.
Dealer Notes
Published as part of the Contemporary Science Series, edited by Havelock Ellis, this is a study of eight individual earthquakes from the second half of the 19th century, "... giving brief, though detailed, accounts of individual earthquakes rather than a discussion of the phenomena and distribution of earthquakes in general." Davison, a mathematician and noted early seismologist, regularly published similar pieces in general scientific and geological journals.
Author Charles Davison
Date 1905
Binding Publisher's original maroon cloth.
Publisher Walter Scott: London and Newcastle-on-Tyne
Condition Near fine
Pages 355 + 24 pp. publisher's ads at rear

Friends of the PBFA

For £10 get free entry to our fairs, updates from the PBFA and more.

Please email for more information


Membership of the PBFA is open to anyone who has been trading in antiquarian and second-hand books for a minimum of two years subject to certain criteria.

Email to find out more, or complete the enquiry form.

complete the form