Book Description

1. Alice’s adventures in wonderland & Through the looking-glass & The hunting of the snark; 2. Treasure Island; 3. At the back of the north wind; 4. Fifty favourite fairy tales chosen from the colour fairy books. Crown 8vo. 4 volumes in cloth-covered slipcase. First impressions thus. Original various coloured cloths with a rectangular panel on each front cover blocked in gold with Joan Hassall’s Nonesuch Cygnet device. Top edges stained in different colours. In clear acetate jackets. Illustrated respectively by John Tenniel, Robert Micklewright, Charles Mozley & Margery Gill. The acetate jacket on ‘Alice’ has a tear to the bottom edge of the back. A fine set.
Dealer Notes
The first four ‘Nonesuch Cygnets’ were issued in May 1963 and stand the test of time for any child’s library. This slipcased set gathers them all together safely and smartly.
Author Carroll, Lewis [Dodgson, Charles Lutwidge]; Robert Louis Stevenson; George MacDonald; Andrew Lang
Date 1963
Publisher London, The Nonesuch Press

Friends of the PBFA

For £10 get free entry to our fairs, updates from the PBFA and more.


Membership of the PBFA is open to anyone who has been trading in antiquarian and second-hand books for a minimum of two years subject to certain criteria.
Find Out More