Regretfully, due to Covid-19, we have decided to cancel all fairs up until the end of September.
Book Description
Golding's final novel Octavo (215 x 135mm), pp. [4 (preliminaries)], 313, [3 (blanks)]. (Lightly browned as usual, due to poor paper-stock.) Original black boards, spine lettered in white, dustwrapper with design after Paul Hogarth, not price-clipped. (Dustwrapper lightly rubbed and creased at edges.) A very good copy in a very good dustwrapper.
Dealer Notes
First edition. Published six years after William Golding (1911-1993) was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1983, Fire Down Below was issued on 20 March 1989 in an edition of 19,299 copies. Following Rites of Passage (1980) – which won the Booker Prize in 1980 – and Close Quarters (1987), Fire Down Below was the final volume in Golding’s maritime trilogy To the Ends of the Earth, and the last novel he published during his lifetime. The three novels were published together under the title To the Ends of the Earth: A Sea Trilogy in 1991, and the trilogy was filmed for television in 2005, with Benedict Cumberbatch taking the lead role.

Gekoski and Grogan, William Golding, A19(a).
Author GOLDING, William Gerald
Date 1989
Publisher London: Richard Clay Ltd for Faber & Faber

Price: £17.50

Offered by Type & Forme

Friends of the PBFA

For £10 get free access to our fairs, updates from the PBFA and much more.


Membership of the PBFA is open to anyone who has been trading in antiquarian and second-hand books for a minimum of two years subject to certain criteria.
Find Out More