Book Description
This is a fascinating Manuscript Document book that seems to have been produced as a reference work to a plan of the East Staffordshire Village of Marchington situated near the town of Uttoxeter in 1885 the book was originally sold by G.Webster of Uttoxeter, Stationer and Account Book Manufacturer, and was registered on October 2nd 1885 then used to list all the plots of land and buildings in the Township of Marchington and their acreage, with 534 entries coming to a total of 2439.3 Acres every field and place having its own name, such as Holly Cover Field, Primrose Hill, Big Broad butts, Morton’s Croft, Little Barn Piece, Bamford’s Meadow, Ashby’s Leys, Town meadow & The Crooks, Little Poo Bridge, Withy Bush Acre, Dockey Butts, Anker’s Holme, Pleasure Grounds, Houndhill House, Upper Crook’s Chain, Little Nook, Pier Points or Whales End, Upper & Lower Stoney Flatts, Patch Lane, Pepper Hill Close, Far Part of Jack, Bull Public House, Little Eyes and meadow, Railway Garden, Far Stafford Field, Little Ridding, Sawpit Bank & Croft by Railway, Love Cote, Lower Swan’s field, and much more a charming collection of old place names around the village, many of which have probably long fallen out of use the leather bound book measures just under 13 inches tall with 29 used pages, written on one side only in a very neat legible hand, nice quality handmade paper watermark dated 1884 some wear to leather covers else in very nice general condition
Author R. T. A. Hardy
Date 1885
Binding Leather
Publisher Unpublished Manuscript

Price: £345.00

Offered by Andrew Cox

Friends of the PBFA

For £10 get free access to our fairs, updates from the PBFA and much more.

Join PBFA

Membership of the PBFA is open to anyone who has been trading in antiquarian and second-hand books for a minimum of two years subject to certain criteria.
Find Out More