Book Description

An 18 volume set of the novels of Thomas Hardy, published by Macmillan as their Library Edition between 1949 and 1952, as follows: 1949 - The Woodlanders, The Return of the Native, Jude the Obscure, Tess of the D'Urbervilles, Far From the Madding Crowd, Under the Greenwood Tree; 1950 - The Trumpet Major, The Mayor of Casterbridge; 1951 - Desperate Remedies, The Hand of Ethelberta, A Changed Man, A Laodicean; 1952 - Two on a Tower, Wessex Tales, A Pair of Blue Eyes, Life's Little Ironies, The Well Beloved, A Group of Noble Dames. All are first thus editions apart from Tess of the Durbervilles (1950), Far from the Madding Crowd (1952) and Under the Greenwood Tree (1952). All are bound in royal blue buckram with gilt titles to the spines and with their original dustwrappers and carry the bookplate of Godfrey Smith - possibly the author, journalist and former editor of the Sunday Times Magazine who died in 2017. The set is in very good condition, with just a little foxing noted to the front endpapers and pencil marks to the Preface of Under the Greenwood Tree noted. The dustwrappers are in very good condition with a touch of spine fade.
Dealer Notes
A handsome set of Hardy novels, we believe full sets of this edition are very hard to come by.
Publisher Macmillan

Friends of the PBFA

For £10 get free entry to our fairs, updates from the PBFA and more.


Membership of the PBFA is open to anyone who has been trading in antiquarian and second-hand books for a minimum of two years subject to certain criteria.
Find Out More